Home page Insights
The Extreme Inconsistency of the Behaviour of …

The Extreme Inconsistency of the Behaviour of Patriarch Bartholomew

Protopresbyter Ioannis K. Diotis. Theologian, social commentator, writer and publisher. Recipient of awards fr om the Academy of Sciences of Athens for his activities.

It is with unprecedented hostility that the Ecumenical Patriarch Bartholomew has attacked the Russian Orthodox Church, which accounts for almost half of the world’s Orthodox population. The Patriarch’s behaviour is inconsistent. Here are a few of the ‘outpourings’ of the Patriarch’s heart as published on 2nd February 2023 by the Ark of Orthodoxy web portal.

“It is the Russian Church, which lacks a healthy ecclesiastical consciousness, and not Ukrainian autocephaly, which has widened the gulf between Ukrainians and Russians.”

It is the Patriarch himself who lacks an Orthodox ecclesiastical consciousness. It is he, through his uncanonical interference in another church jurisdiction belonging to the Moscow Patriarchate, who has widened the church schism in Ukraine. It is he who granted pseudo-autocephaly to the pseudo-church that he himself instituted in Kiev made up of schismatics, the excommunicated, and self-consecrated who have no priestly rank and persons anathematized headed by the pseudo-primate and pseudo-bishop Epiphanius. He has attempted to deceive all the heads of the churches, all of the fullness of Orthodoxy by asserting that he had restored from the perspective of ecclesiology all those upon whom the Moscow Patriarchate had imposed canonical sanctions. As a journalist I asked the Patriarch to make publicly available the procedure by which he restored those placed under ecclesiastical sanctions, but he said nothing in reply, which masked his nakedness from the ecclesiological perspective. And again, the Patriarch is faced with a challenge for the simple reason that he is obliged to do this. This is a general requirement, a requirement of the whole Orthodox Church.

I will linger on this issue because it is central and fundamental. The Ukrainian question continues to tear apart the unity of all the Orthodox Church as a result of schisms that have occurred. The only person who bears responsibility for this sad ecclesiastical situation is the Ecumenical Patriarch Bartholomew.

Attention, dear readers! And again I say – attention! The Patriarch is evidently contradicting himself.

This is the very same Patriarch who convoked the Synaxis of Primates of all the autocephalous Orthodox Churches in Chambésy near Geneva from 21st to 27th January 2016. The Apostolic Diaconia publishing house of the Greek Orthodox Church of Hellas put out a beautifully published and long 542-page volume containing the minutes and all corresponding documents of this solemn Synaxis under the title of The Synaxis of the Primates of the Most Holy Orthodox Autocephalous Churches. The first edition came out in October 2021.

Listen, and listen carefully. During the many dialogues and lengthy discussions during the seven days of the Synaxis, Patriarch Bartholomew, inter alia, directly, unambiguously and clearly stated: 1. “The unity of the Church is to be manifested not only in words but also in external affairs” (p.62); “I officially declare that the Most Holy Church of Constantinople has no intention of undertaking any acts in connection with church life in Ukraine, especially with regard to regulating the schism and the granting of autocephaly” (p.150). 3. “All of those here present recognize metropolitan Onuphrius to be the sole canonical metropolitan of Kiev” (p.71); 4. “Before the Holy Synaxis I repeat that every time bishops of the Ecumenical Patriarchate, when visiting Ukraine, they in the first instance pay a visit to the Metropolitan of Kiev His Grace Onuphrius” (p.151); 5. “Philaret is a schismatic. I have given clear instructions to those Ukrainian clerics under the jurisdiction of the Ecumenical Patriarchate in the diaspora that, when in Kiev, they refrain from all communion in the sacraments and joint services with schismatics” (pp.77-78); 6. “We believe that brotherly relations between the Churches of Constantinople and Moscow are a precious good” (p.78); 7. “There are no doubts as to the canonical rights of the Most Holy Russian Church in Ukraine” (p.77); 8. “The Most Holy Church of Constantinople in no way intends to intervene in the internal affairs of the autocephalous Churches and shall always act only at the request expressed by an interested Church” (p.77); 9. “The Ecumenical Patriarch resolves issues with recourse to the appropriate measures provided for by canonical order” (p.77); 10. “I propose to adopt together with the fraternal Russian Church a resolution that will enable the healing of the church schism in Ukraine” (p.155); 11. All the participants of this Synaxis are in agreement with Patriarch Bartholomew and recognize that the Ukrainian Orthodox Church comes under the ecclesiastical jurisdiction of the Moscow Patriarchate.

How terrible, terrible, terrible! By single-handedly granting to the pseudo-church of Kiev pseudo-autocephaly, Patriarch Bartholomew has turned on its head everything that he stated at the Synaxis of Primates, through his intervention in another ecclesiastical jurisdiction under the Moscow Patriarchate he has committed a most serious canonical crime. We must bear in mind too that at no time did the canonical Ukrainian Church headed by metropolitan Onuphrius ask for autocephaly. Patriarch Bartholomew committed an additional canonical crime by placing a second bishop – pseudo-bishop Epiphanius – in the same place as Onuphrius. This is completely forbidden by the holy canons. The behaviour of the Patriarch is remarkable for its inconsistency.

Since this first slander by Patriarch Bartholomew against the Russian Church required a lengthy refutation, we shall further lim it ourselves merely to quoting the disparaging “outpourings” of the Patriarchal heart.

“Moscow is attempting to undermine ecclesiastical order”; “The Russian Church is creating tension in Orthodox relations”; “The Russian Church has papal ambitions”; “Moscow does not recognize the Ukrainians’ right to an autocephalous Church since it wishes to persecute them severely, it wants to turn Orthodoxy into a confederation of Churches with Moscow retaining the final word”; “Moscow possesses an undisguised arrogant and hegemonistic mentality”; “The Russian Church is definitely trying to kill its own Mother Church”; “The Russian Church should beg forgiveness for those afflictions that it has caused to Orthodoxy”.

This collection of disparaging remarks by Patriarch Bartholomew cannot be tolerated. They stand in stark contrast to and contradict what Patriarch Bartholomew said at the Synaxis of Primates. No challenge was laid down to him. It is he who started this iniquity by teaming up with America that is under the power of the masons in order to wage war with Orthodox Russia.

After this shocking self-contradiction and painful self-parody, Patriarch Bartholomew can no longer enjoy respect as a public figure. Henceforth he is a person to be deemed totally untrustworthy.

Share:
The OSCE is monitoring the situation with the rights of believers in Ukraine.

16.05.2024

Representatives of the Russian Orthodox Church participated in a meeting of the Strategic Vision Group "Russia - Islamic World" in Kazan.

16.05.2024

His Holiness Patriarch Kirill sends greetings to participants in the conference of “Russia – Islamic World” Group of Strategic Vision

16.05.2024

Paschal Message from Patriarch KIRILL of Moscow and All Russia

04.05.2024

His Holiness Patriarch Kirill addressed the blatant examples of pressure on the Ukrainian Orthodox Church

27.04.2024

His Holiness Patriarch Kirill hosts a regular session of the Supreme Church Council.

16.04.2024

Patriarch Kirill met with the DECR Chairman and the Patriarchal Exarch of Western Europe

09.04.2024

His Holiness Patriarch Kirill celebrates moleben in Donskoy Monastery at the shrine with St. Tikhon’s relics

07.04.2024

Patriarch Kirill celebrates at the Annunciation Cathedral of the Moscow Kremlin on the Feast of the Annunciation

07.04.2024

His Holiness Patriarch Kirill celebrates All-night Vigil at the Cathedral of Christ the Savior on the eve of the Feast of the Annunciation

06.04.2024

His Holiness Patriarch Kirill meets with Metropolitan Constantine of Zaraisk

04.04.2024

Metropolitan of All America and Canada Tikhon extends condolences for victims of terrorist attack in Krasnogorsk

25.03.2024

Address by His Holiness Patriarch Kirill on the 25th anniversary of the start of NATO aggression against Yugoslavia

24.03.2024

The Primates of the Russian and Serbian Orthodox Churches head the Divine Liturgy and take the funeral for the bishop of Moravica Anthony at the Christ the Saviour Cathedral in Moscow

16.03.2024

His Holiness Patriarch Kirill meets with the primate of the Serbian Orthodox Church

15.03.2024

Representatives of the Russian Orthodox Church participated in a meeting of the Strategic Vision Group "Russia - Islamic World" in Kazan.

16.05.2024

DECR Chairman prays at the Divine service celebrated by the head of the Metropolia of Tatarstan

15.05.2024

DECR Chairman arrives in Kazan and meets with head of the Republic of Tatarstan

14.05.2024

DECR Chairman takes part in the forum of religious leaders in Azerbaijan

01.05.2024

Metropolitan Anthony of Volokolamsk visited the Cathedral of the Holy Myrrh-bearing Women in Baku

30.04.2024

DECR Chairman arrives in Azerbaijan

29.04.2024

Primate of Autonomous Orthodox Church in Japan and DECR chairman celebrate Divine Liturgy in Tokyo

21.04.2024

Patriarch Kirill met with the DECR Chairman and the Patriarchal Exarch of Western Europe

09.04.2024

His Holiness Patriarch Kirill celebrates moleben in Donskoy Monastery at the shrine with St. Tikhon’s relics

07.04.2024

Patriarch Kirill celebrates at the Annunciation Cathedral of the Moscow Kremlin on the Feast of the Annunciation

07.04.2024

His Holiness Patriarch Kirill celebrates All-night Vigil at the Cathedral of Christ the Savior on the eve of the Feast of the Annunciation

06.04.2024

Meeting of the DECR Chairman with His Beatitude Patriarch Theophilos III of Jerusalem took place

02.04.2024

DECR Chairman met with a representative of the Church of England

28.03.2024

Metropolitan Anthony of Volokolamsk met with representatives of the Coptic Church

28.03.2024

Burial takes place at Serbian metochion of the bishop of Moravica Anthony.

16.03.2024

Metropolitan Hilarion: Many things in a person's life depend on faith

29.08.2021

Metropolitan Hilarion: The Holy Spirit is the main treasure of the Christian soul

01.08.2021

Metropolitan Hilarion: Holiness is a constant striving to imitate the Lord Jesus Christ

27.06.2021

Metropolitan Hilarion: God does not want to condemn, but to save us

07.03.2021

Metropolitan Hilarion: The Lord always grants to us the opportunity to display our talents

24.01.2021

Metropolitan Hilarion: The Lord has imbued the waters of Jordan with his divine presence to wash away human sins

19.01.2021

Metropolitan Hilarion: to repent means to change your way of life

17.01.2021

On commemoration day of St. Catherine, Metropolitan Hilarion of Volokolamsk officiated at the Church of St. Catherine the Great Martyr In-the-Fields  the representation of the Orthodox Church in America

07.12.2020

Metropolitan Hilarion: We can always show compassion for people

29.11.2020

Metropolitan Hilarion celebrates on commemoration day of St. Varlaam of Khutyn at the church of ‘Joy to All the Afflicted’ icon of the Mother of God

19.11.2020

Metropolitan Hilarion: We should remember that the life of each human being is in the hands of God

06.11.2020

Metropolitan Hilarion: For God there is nothing impossible

25.10.2020

Metropoplitan Hilarion: The cross which was an instrument of dishonourable execution becomes the symbol of salvation for millions of people

27.09.2020

Metropolitan Hilarion: Eucharist is the wedding feast, to which Lord Jesus Christ invites each of us

13.09.2020

Metropolitan Hilarion: Faith alone is not enough for salvation

30.08.2020

Page is available in the following languages
Feedback

Fields marked by * are mandatory required

Send a message
Рус Укр Eng Deu Ελλ Fra Ita Бълг ქარ Срп Rom عرب

Главная страница Аналитика
Патриарх Варфоломей повел себя крайне непоследовательно…

Патриарх Варфоломей повел себя крайне непоследовательно

Протопресвитер Иоанн К. Диотис, богослов, публицист, писатель и издатель
(за эту многоплановую деятельность награжден Афинской академией наук)

С беспрецедентной враждебностью обрушился Вселенский Патриарх Варфоломей на Русскую Православную Церковь, которая представляет почти половину православного мира. Подобное поведение Патриарха является непоследовательным. Вот несколько соответствующих «излияний» патриаршего сердца так, как они были опубликованы 2 февраля 2023 года порталом «Ковчег Православия»:

«Русская Церковь, у которой отсутствует здоровое церковное сознание, а не украинская автокефалия углубила пропасть между украинцами и русскими».  

Сам этот Патриарх и есть тот, кто лишен православного церковного сознания. Ведь именно он своим неканоническим вторжением в чужую церковную юрисдикцию, принадлежащую Московскому Патриархату, усугубил церковный раскол на Украине. Именно он предоставил лжеавтокефалию им же самим учрежденной в Киеве личной лжецеркви, состоящей из раскольников, отлученных, самосвятов, не имеющих священного сана и анафематствованных лиц во главе с лжепредстоятелем лжеепископом Епифанием. Он попытался обмануть всех глав Церквей, всю православную полноту, утверждая, что восстановил с точки зрения экклесиологии всех, кого Московский Патриархат подверг каноническим прещениям. Я как журналист попросил Патриарха сделать достоянием общественности процедуру восстановления подвергнутых церковным прещениям лиц, но ответом с его стороны было молчание, которое прикрывало его полную с экклесиологической точки зрения наготу. И снова Патриарх стоит перед вызовом, потому что просто обязан это сделать. Это требование поистине универсальное, это требование всей православной полноты.   

Я задержусь на этом вопросе, потому что он носит ключевой и основополагающий характер. Украинский вопрос продолжает терзать единство всего Православия из-за возникновения расколов. Единственный, кто несет ответственность за эту печальную церковную ситуацию, – Вселенский Патриарх Варфоломей.

Внимание, дорогие читатели, внимание и еще раз внимание! Патриарх ясно опровергает самого себя.

Этот же самый Патриарх созвал Собрание Предстоятелей всех автокефальных Православных Церквей в Шамбези близ Женевы (21-27 января 2016 г.). Издательство «Апостольской диаконии» Элладской Православной Церкви выпустило в свет прекрасно оформленный многостраничный том (542 стр.), содержащий протоколы и все соответствующие документы этого торжественного Собрания под названием «Собрание Предстоятелей Святейших Православных Автокефальных Церквей» (1-е издание октябрь 2021 г.).

Послушайте, послушайте, послушайте! В ходе многих диалогов и пространных дискуссий в течение всех семи дней этого Собрания Патриарх Варфоломей среди прочего прямо, недвусмысленно и ясно заявлял: 1) «Единство Церкви должно проявляться и по отношению к внешним не только в словах, но и в делах» (стр. 62). 2) «Я официально заверяю, что святейшая Константинопольская Церковь не имеет намерения предпринимать любого рода действий, связанных с церковной жизнью на Украине, особенно же в отношении легализации раскола и предоставления автокефалии» (стр. 150). 3) «Мы все здесь присутствующие признаем владыку Онуфрия единственным каноническим митрополитом Киевским» (стр. 71). 4) «Перед лицом священного собрания я повторяю, что всякий раз, когда архиереи Вселенского Патриархата приезжают на Украину, они в первую очередь наносят визит митрополиту Киевскому Преосвященному Онуфрию» (стр. 151). 5) «Филарет является раскольником. Я дал ясные указания находящимся в юрисдикции Вселенского Патриархата украинским клирикам диаспоры, чтобы, будучи в Киеве, они воздерживались от всякого общения в таинствах и от совместных богослужений с раскольниками» (стр. 77-78). 6) «Мы считаем, что братские отношения между Константинопольской и Московской Церквами являются драгоценным благом» (стр. 78). «Нет никаких сомнений в отношении канонических прав Святейшей Русской Церкви на Украине» (стр. 77). 8) «Святейшая Константинопольская Церковь никоим образом не собирается вмешиваться во внутренние дела автокефальных Церквей, всегда действуя по просьбе, выраженной заинтересованной Церковью» (стр. 77). 9) «Вселенский Патриарх занимается разрешением вопросов, используя предусмотренные каноническим порядком подходящие способы» (стр. 77). 10) «Я предлагаю принять совместное с братской Русской Церковью решение, чтобы содействовать уврачеванию церковного раскола на Украине» (стр. 155). 11) Все участники данного Собрания вместе с Патриархом Варфоломеем соглашаются и признают, что Украинская Православная Церковь входит в церковную юрисдикцию Московского Патриархата.  

Ужас! Ужас! Ужас! Самочинно предоставленной своей Киевской лжецеркви лжеавтокефалией Патриарх Варфоломей ниспровергнул все то, о чем заявлял на Собрании Предстоятелей, вторжением в чужую церковную юрисдикцию, находящуюся в подчинении Московского Патриархата, совершив тяжелейшее каноническое преступление. При этом каноническая Церковь во главе с митрополитом Онуфрием не просила автокефалию. Патриарх Варфоломей впал и в иное вполне конкретное каноническое преступление, поставив второго епископа (лжеепископа Епифания) в одно и то же место – что абсолютно запрещено священными канонами. Такое поведение Патриарха отличается непоследовательностью.

Поскольку первая клевета Патриарха Варфоломея на Русскую Церковь потребовала столь пространного опровержения, далее мы ограничимся лишь тем, что процитируем оскорбительные «излияния» патриаршего сердца:

«Москва пытается ниспровергнуть церковный порядок»; «Русская Церковь создает напряжение в православных отношениях»; «У Русской Церкви папские амбиции»; «Москва не признает за украинцами право на автокефальную Церковь, поскольку хочет жестоко угнетать их, хочет превратить Православие в конфедерацию Церквей, чтобы слово было за ней»; «Москва обладает неприкрыто высокомерным гегемонистским менталитетом»; «Русская Церковь решительно стремится к убийству собственной матери»; «Русская Церковь должна просить прощения за те беды, что причинила Православию».

Этот набор оскорблений со стороны Патриарха невыносим. Он входит в страшный контраст и противоречие с тем, что Патриарх Варфоломей заявлял на Собрании Предстоятелей. Ему никоим образом не бросали вызова. Он первый начал с беззакония, соединился с порабощенной масонами Америкой, чтобы воевать с православной Россией.

После такого леденящего самоопровержения и болезненного самоосмеяния Патриарх Варфоломей уже не может пользоваться уважением как общественный деятель. Отныне он – лицо, совершенно не заслуживающее доверия.

Поделиться:
Святейший Патриарх Кирилл встретился с главами российских протестантов

18 июня в 21:00

Поздравление Патриарха Кирилла Н. Моди с переизбранием на должность главы Правительства Индии

12 июня в 20:00

Патриаршее поздравление по случаю 100-летия освящения храма равноапостольных Константина и Елены в Кламаре (Франция)

10 июня в 10:00

Святейший Патриарх Кирилл встретился со слушателями Высших дипломатических курсов

04 июня в 13:40

Поздравление Святейшего Патриарха Кирилла Предстоятелю Польской Православной Церкви с годовщиной интронизации

31 мая в 16:00

Журналы Священного Синода от 30 мая 2024 года

30 мая в 19:00

Святейший Патриарх Кирилл возглавил очередное заседание Священного Синода Русской Православной Церкви

30 мая в 12:00

В Храме Христа Спасителя состоялся прием по случаю Дня славянской письменности и культуры и тезоименитства Предстоятеля Русской Церкви

24 мая в 20:00

В день памяти святых Мефодия и Кирилла Предстоятель Русской Церкви совершил Литургию в Храме Христа Спасителя

24 мая в 14:45

Поздравительный адрес членов Синода Русской Православной Церкви Святейшему Патриарху Кириллу с днем тезоименитства

24 мая в 12:30

Соболезнование Святейшего Патриарха Кирилла в связи с гибелью Президента Ирана Эбрахима Раиси

20 мая в 12:20

Святейший Патриарх Кирилл опечален и возмущен запретом на въезд Предстоятеля и архиереев Сербской Церкви в Косово

17 мая в 19:48

В ОБСЕ следят за ситуацией с правами верующих на Украине

16 мая в 19:15

Представители Русской Православной Церкви приняли участие в заседании Группы стратегического видения «Россия – исламский мир» в Казани

16 мая в 16:50

Святейший Патриарх Кирилл поздравил С.В. Лаврова с назначением на должность министра иностранных дел РФ

16 мая в 14:40

Председатель ОВЦС встретился с новоназначенным представителем Патриарха Сербского при Московском Патриаршем престоле

20 июня в 18:00

Председатель ОВЦС встретился с заместителем председателя Комитета Совета Федерации по международным делам

20 июня в 13:00

Святейший Патриарх Кирилл встретился с главами российских протестантов

18 июня в 21:00

Председателю ОВЦС присвоено звание почетного доктора Дипломатической академии МИД России

14 июня в 20:30

Состоялась встреча митрополита Волоколамского Антония с губернатором Ростовской области

11 июня в 09:50

Председатель ОВЦС прочел лекцию в Донской духовной семинарии

11 июня в 09:30

Председатель ОВЦС возглавил Литургию в кафедральном соборе Ростова-на-Дону

09 июня в 23:30

Председатель ОВЦС поздравил Блаженнейшего Митрополита Варшавского и всей Польши Савву с 26-й годовщиной интронизации

31 мая в 15:59

Синод констатировал невозможность сослужения с иерархами Болгарской Церкви, вступившими в церковное общение с раскольниками

30 мая в 18:45

Святейший Патриарх Кирилл возглавил очередное заседание Священного Синода Русской Православной Церкви

30 мая в 12:00

Председатель ОВЦС возглавил празднование пятой годовщины освящения Всехсвятского храма в Страсбурге

26 мая в 21:10

В день памяти святых Мефодия и Кирилла Предстоятель Русской Церкви совершил Литургию в Храме Христа Спасителя

24 мая в 14:45

Завершилась рабочая поездка председателя ОВЦС на Кипр

21 мая в 21:55

Председатель Отдела внешних церковных связей посетил Киккский монастырь

21 мая в 10:00

Митрополит Волоколамский Антоний встретился с иерархами Кипрской Православной Церкви

20 мая в 23:55

Председатель ОВЦС совершил Литургию в храме Покрова Пресвятой Богородицы в Рубцове

17 октября 2021 в 22:00

Митрополит Иларион: в день Покрова Пресвятой Богородицы мы прославляем небесное заступничество Матери Божией

14 октября 2021 в 22:00

Председатель ОВЦС совершил Литургию в престольный праздник московского храма свв. мучеников Михаила и Феодора на Черниговском подворье

03 октября 2021 в 20:00

Митрополит Иларион возглавил престольный праздник академического храма Общецерковной аспирантуры

11 сентября 2021 в 20:00

Митрополит Иларион: Очень многое в жизни человека зависит от веры

29 августа 2021 в 23:00

Митрополит Иларион: Святой Дух – главное сокровище христианской души

01 августа 2021 в 22:00

Митрополит Иларион: Святость – это постоянное стремление подражать Господу Иисусу Христу

27 июня 2021 в 23:00

Митрополит Иларион: Будем в любых обстоятельствах жизни сохранять верность Господу Иисусу Христу

19 марта 2021 в 15:56

Митрополит Иларион: Бог желает не осудить, а спасти нас

07 марта 2021 в 22:34

Митрополит Иларион: Встреча с Богом – главная цель в жизни человека

15 февраля 2021 в 20:00

Митрополит Иларион: Евангельская история о Закхее учит нас, как реагировать на присутствие Бога в нашей жизни

14 февраля 2021 в 19:34

Митрополит Иларион: Достоевский через все свое творчество проповедовал евангельский идеал – Христа

09 февраля 2021 в 19:02

Церковь прославляет всех мучеников и исповедников за имя Христово

07 февраля 2021 в 21:20

Митрополит Иларион: Без наших собственных усилий Бог не сможет нас спасти

31 января 2021 в 20:26

Митрополит Иларион: Господь всегда нам дает возможность проявить свои способности

24 января 2021 в 21:20

Page is available in the following languages
Обратная связь

Поля отмеченные * обязательны для заполнения

Отправить обращение
Рус Укр Eng Deu Ελλ Fra Ita Бълг ქარ Срп Rom عرب